Was this page useful?

*Required Field

Research / News & Events/ News





« Back to listings

Celebrate Research is an annual event that celebrates the successes of the research community at St. Joseph’s Healthcare Hamilton.

Join us on Thursday October 12th as we recognize the achievements of our researchers and the recipients of the 2017 Research Institute Award Program. These awards help new and established researchers to continue improving patients’ quality of life through new diagnostics, treatments and understandings of the body and mind.

In addition to the awards ceremony, researchers from each of the four major research programs will present the key successes of their work over the past year. We are also holding an academic poster competition which showcases student projects from across St. Joe's.

The event is opened to the community and everyone is welcome to join us in celebrating research! We encourage you to view the presentations, interact with our display booths and enjoy the lunch service that we have to offer.

Thursday October 12th

11:00am – 2:30pm
2nd Floor Juravinski Tower
Charlton Campus

Please RSVP Here

Event Timeline:

11:00 am: Award & achievement presentations begin

12:00 pm: Interactive display tables,
academic poster competition, lunch service

1:00 pm: Award & achievement presentations continue


This year's award recipients include:

Research Institute Research Staff Recognition Award

  • Ms. Melanie Kjarsgaard (Supervisor: Dr. Parameswaran Nair)

Research Institute Studentship Award                          

  • Mr. Steven Liang  (Supervisor: Dr. Jim Mahony)
  • Mr. Neel Mehta (Supervisor: Dr. Joan Krepinsky)

Research Institute Post-Doctoral Fellowship Award     

  • Dr. Guowei Li  (Supervisor: Dr. Mitch Levine)

Research Institute MD/Phd Award                      

  • Mr. Aadil Bharwani  (Supervisor: Dr. John Bienenstock)

Teresa Cascioli Charitable Foundation Research Award in Women’s Health     

  • Dr. Benicio Frey
  • Dr. Ryan van Lieshout

Constantine Douketis New Researcher

  • Dr. Michael Amlung

SJH Foundation Research Collaboration Grant              

  • Drs. Wael Hanna, Lawrence Mbuagbaw, Marla Beauchamp (co-applicants)

Anne & Neil McArthur Research Award

  • Dr. Mark Crowther

CARSTAR Automotive Canada Research Innovation Fund

  • Dr. Michael Amlung
  • Ms. Holly Raymond

Dr. Ian & Shirley Rowe Research Fund

  • Dr. Elmar Gardizi
  • Dr. Susan Strong

Forensic Conference Travel Bursary

  • Katelyn Mullally


Please RSVP Here


Comments are closed.