Was this page useful?

*Required Field

Research / Get Involved/ Special Events/ Celebrate Research/ Celebrate Research 2020

Celebrate Research

>> Check out our Elevator Pitch Series!

Celebrate Research 2020 Virtual Ceremony

Are you looking for the 2021 Virtual Ceremony? Click here!

Each year, the Research Institute of St. Joe's comes together to celebrate the achievements of our researchers, research programs, staff, and students. It also gives us the opportunity to thank our donors for their continued support, announce the winners of the student research poster competition, and network with our local partners in research.

A full schedule of the awards ceremony video is available in the YouTube description. Thank-you to everyone who participated in the live premiere of Celebrate Research 2020. 


2020 McArthur Academic Presentation

Presentation Topic: Acute Stroke and the Re-analysis of the ECASS III Study

The Anne & Neil McArthur Research Award has long honoured an internationally-recognized researcher at St. Joe's. It is customary for the winner to give an academic presentation on their work. Typically, this occurs at our Celebrate Research event. However, this year we have decided to hold the McArthur academic presentation on a separate date from our Celebrate Research Virtual Ceremony. This will allow the presenter to engage the audience via Zoom during a dedicated presentation.

The 2020 recipient is Dr. Lehana Thabane, Director of Biostatistics at the Research Institute of St. Joe's Hamilton and Professor in the Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact (HEI) at McMaster University. Dr. Thabane has over 700 research publications and is a member of several international organizations related to health research methodology.

Dr. Thabane will present on the controversies about treatment 3 to 4.5 hours after acute stroke, highlighting lessons learned from the re-analysis of the ECASS III study in the pursuit of truth and the implications for clinical practice guidelines.


Research Elevator Pitch Series

Check out these Elevator Pitch videos from some of our award winners to learn how their projects will make an impact:

Kelly Hassall

Kimberley Lewis

Mohammadhossein Dabaghi

Suzanne Archie

Gary Chaimowitz